User Reviews For: The Stranger by the Beach

402433

5.0 out of 5

(10)
5 star
(10)
4 star
(0)
3 star
(0)
2 star
(0)
1 star
(0)
2017-11-12
Jo Rating
I absolutely ADORE The Stranger by the Beach!! Kanna Kii's art style is visually stunning and the mellow story is a breath of fresh air compared to other BLs I've read. This is definitely a good read for anyone that wants something lighthearted and mostly story-driven at a relatively slow pace. I completely sympathise with Shun as unemployment and lack of a supportive family really test your self-worth; it's calming and almost too realistic. For those who want something more intense and romantic, this probably isn't the best choice to go for though.
2017-11-17
morteamoureuse Rating
This story is cute and different from most of the smutty yaoi out there. There is a lot of tenderness as it portrays a relationship in its beginnings. It was sweet and my only complaint is that I was left wanting to see more of this couple's story.
2018-12-12
Shiichan Rating
We definitely need more this kind of yaoi! No sexual violence or rushed plot, just pure emotions between these young men. Hope we can see more Kanna Kii sensei's art work on this site soon.
2018-05-13
caporushes Rating
This story is one of my favorites. It's sweet and honest, with two charming leads. Not to mention Kanna Kii's art! I love her delicate lines and crowded details that really ground both of the characters in the story. Mio and Shun are well-developed and feel solid and real. If you're in the mood for a sweet love story, this is for you!
2020-01-17
niosism Rating
This is my favorite yaoi manga. The beach setting is so peaceful, as if I were watching a Studio Ghibli movie. I love the amount of detail the author puts into this work. The art style is also my favorite. This manga is well thought out and feels very familiar. The characters are incredibly realistic and this is another main reason I like this manga so much. A lot of yaoi falls into the same tropes over and over again, and this one is a breath of fresh air because it erases most if not all the things that often annoy me about other yaoi I read. The romance is natural and not forced. The sexy scenes are also thoughtful rather than the usual rushed mess. It is a story that even if I didn't know what was happening, I would still enjoy it. It has that nostalgic feel to it, as if I were a curious child watching a cute cartoon for the first time. For some reason, I want to say this manga is self aware. Also, the humor is lovely. I go back to read this often and notice new things each time.
2020-01-02
Sabishi Rating
Beautiful artwork and the story was so touching. It made me both happy and sad at parts.
2019-12-10
azoubee2 Rating
I re-read Stranger by the Beach after hearing that it will be made into a film. I think I will always enjoy reading this manga for its well-developed story and characters, but my favorite aspect is the exquisite artwork. It makes me want to live in Okinawa... Hopefully the sequel will be released on Renta! soon.
2019-10-02
Alistair Rating
It's a nice and warm, heartfelt story ^ ^ so far one of my favorite boy love mangas
2019-01-21
megg Rating
It's a cute simple story. In some way or another you will feel a connection to these characters. And the artwork is very beautiful. I highly recommend it.
2017-12-09
seresia Rating
Scroll to top