>

Nyanko's Reviews & Ratings

2020-02-28
I've reviewed the B&W version of this, so I'll recap: This story is in the universe of and contrasts nicely with Sexless With You. The heroine meets a school friend she hasn't seen in awhile, while bemoaning the lack of stamina and drive of the men she meets. In school, they were the "gluttony club" with an appetite for food, and it turns out their shared gluttony isn't restricted to food. Their matching libidos and energetic brashness cement their match. The heroine is lusty and driven...and cool with herself. The hero is a bit more flawed, but shows the emotional vulnerability in his character not depicted in Sexless. The art is a bit jangly and awkward, but the story more than makes up for it. I can't say the the VertiComix format and color make a huge difference, so purchase to your taste and budget. A fun read, with a heroine who declares herself "a bit of a freak" in bed. Get your freak on, girl!
2019-12-29
While the art is crisp and attractive, this is a story that's been told better elsewhere. The oneshot format means the story moves along at a good pace, but it does give short shrift to the characters as they rush into "romance" for no apparent reason. The central romance is reasonably well presented, but the secondary relationship came out of nowhere was hard to connect with in the story. Again, the art is very good, but the story quality doesn't match.
2019-12-10
While the art in this manga is acceptable, the story telling is really lacking. Everything's a rush, characters are unlikeable, and the tone of the stories shows a lot disdain for the female leads. Admittedly, the female leads here are of the passive, marginally intelligent, low ambition type so they weren't my favorites, either. There's no emotional connection between characters, so there's a clinical, detached quality to the 'romances.' This one feels more like you'd see in 'blue films' written for inexperienced young men, and I can'tsay I'd recommend this to anyone who wants more than a very quick tickle.
2019-11-08
I'm going to go against the grain here, but the early parts of this story do have clear non/dubcon scenes coupled with the deception of the male lead. Certainly, there are worse stories out there but lies and dubcon coupled with the overall slapstick shojo comedy tones is weird. Is the male lead just a liar to save the female lead's brittle ego? Pretty sure what's making her feel insecure and freaked out is the fact that he won't be honest about his feelings, yet he gets sexually aggressive without any preamble. All that makes the absolutely top notch artwork feel like a waste. Make no mistake, the characters are all expressive and attractive, with flashbacks showing the leads as some of the cutest kids I've seen in manga.
2019-11-08
Here are three cute stories with an overall theme of not judging or making conclusions based on appearances. The smutty parts aren't particularly steamy, but since the main characters are in their teens, it fits the tone. There's nothing exciting or new, but there's nothing bad either; the art is about average as well.
2019-11-03
Do you find the manga heroines who can't tell the difference between being kind and being a doormat to be irritating? The male lead in this one sure does! He likes the female lead, but the way she lets her "friends" take advantage of her and her self-serving martyrdom really piss him off. He's absolutely not willing to let her put up with it, and it's the main conflict in this story. The spotlight here is on the male lead and his attempt to get our heroine to grow up a little. She's a typical romance manga heroine, and I couldn't see why he was attracted to her at all. I get the feeling the writer couldn't figure it out either, which is why this charming story flops at the end. It may also be why our hero seems drawn with care but the drawing of the heroine lacks refinement. Summary: Enjoyable read with a very handsome male lead that is marred by the ending.
2019-10-25
To quote Adele, "Sometimes it lasts in love, but sometimes it hurts instead." This story is about two teens who begin a romance at a time when they are struggling with issues of loss and loneliness, and they offer each other an escape from the complicated situations they are going through. Their connection may be love, but it's hard to untangle as life circumstances pull them apart. A chance (?) meeting years later gives them an opportunity to examine their feelings after they've matured. As usual, this author shows nuance in her depictions of love, far beyond the one dimensional characters and tropes that flood the genre. The clean, expressive lines of her art effectively highlight the characters' growth from teen to adult, and it's difficult not to empathize with them. Sometimes you get another chance in love.
2019-10-25
As a general rule, I don't care for the amnesia plot element: it seems gimmicky and has dubcon built right in there. Amnesia is used to kick off the story here, and while the presentation isn't exceptionally good, it works better than some. The art is great, and you can practically see the light glitter in the male lead's puppy dog eyes when he's desperate. It's the puppy dog eyes that hooked me on the story, though the quantity of hot, steamy sex didn't hurt. There's a strange subplot with a love rival that seems pointless as the main relationship brings enough drama to the table, but the main characters aare generally likeable if you get past the manipulative elements inherent in the amnesia situation. The story wraps up tidily, the art is good, and it's an enjoyable read. You might want to turn the AC on for this one, though. Whew!
2019-10-18
The story and art are cute, though the direct role swap is a bit lazy and reads wrong. Instead of giving a female spin on the male player trope, the story takes all the traits of a male character and adds lipstick, cleavage, and curves to them and calls it a day. Likewise, the male character takes the exact traits of the archetypal oblivious female love interest, with the only male spin being sexually eager and aggressive behavior. Simply put, the role swap idea is more gimmicky than fun, and most of the cute and funny moments come from the female character's awareness that she's rapidly losing control of the situation, and how involved she gets in some nerdy stuff just because of how much her "prey" is in them. The story is a bit short and reads very quickly, so I found it a tad overpriced at 500 points. It's fluffy fun, but not exceptional.
2019-10-14
I'd rate this at a 3.5, and giving a hair more because sone of the artwork is cute, The heroine is immature, impulsive, and fixated on an ideal love from her past, which makes her annoying a lot of the time. Still, she is emotionally honest and learns to deal with complex ideas regarding love. She's an innocent romantic learns that you can love more than one person in your life. She also learns that emotional attraction and physical atteaction can be experienced separately and still be OK, and that love can blossom from a physical attraction. The heroine is honest with herself that she is sexually attracted to the male character, and also that she does have her own sexual desires. She even learns to satisfy herself! The sex throughout runs on the dubcon side, so this is a sexual fantasy where a man "awakens" female desire.
Scroll to top