>

Weeb4Life's Reviews & Ratings

2020-09-02
I hate how selfish Sam is, she spends most of the story pushing Xander away when he's always kind to her and Daisy, she keeps comparing him to her scumbag ex because he's uncomfortable being around a little kid who knocked him over the moment she arrived (on top of him being a bachelor with no experience with kids AND a broken leg), she jumped into marriage with her ex despite never getting to know him and now refuses to ever fall in love (instead, you know, actually getting to know the guy you like!) and never once considers Xander's feelings (both for her AND for Daisy). The two have no meaningful conversations or interactions except for the once near the end, where they exposit their sob stories. I also hate how Xander obsesses over controlling his temper, despite NEVER showing us ANY evidence of any temper and despite his brother always telling him he doesn't have one (obviously he only believes that once SAM says it). He also instantly solves Sam's problems because she can't.
2020-08-26
Slow burn focused more on family bonding between the leads and Isabella than on romance. Jack may be a ruthless, stubborn workaholic, but he cares deeply for his adopted niece (whom he calls Baby Belle) and always puts her first, willing to do anything for her. We get his POV exclusively, to hide the big reveal and to keep Annalise's thoughts and emotions a mystery. She's calm, mature and initially walks all over Jack to get her way in helping Isabella, so she seems like the perfect match for him. There's ample bonding between everyone before we get to the arranged marriage part (and both sides are unfailingly respectful to each other throughout), so the romance was well developed. But then a big secret gets revealed and Annalise's character gets destroyed by her becoming painfully passive, a doormat who lets others walk all over her and who won't even TRY to fight for what she wants, made all the worse by how strong she was before then. So great story until that last third.
2020-08-21
Very cute and laid-back. The title only applies to the 1st half of the story where Bonten, an inexplicably talking cat with equally inexplicable and ill-defined magical powers, and his owner help people (all girls who look way too similar) with their mundane problems (that the girls should really have been able to solve themselves). I preferred Clavay's Keys over this because their characters and their problems were far more interesting, diverse and relatable, and the magic was more consistent and, well, "magical". The 2nd half is more slice-of-life with completely different characters and plots, with the only thing tying everything together being the theme of cats helping people with their problems. My main gripe is how confusing things can get since it's so often hard to tell who's speaking. All speech bubbles are identical and the same text font is used for everyone, and often they'll show one person when it's someone else talking. It's too incoherent at times for a full 5 stars.
2020-08-10
If you like The Throw-Away Bride then you'll love this sequel starring Abby's sister Anna/Rebecca and Leo's brother Connor (you'll also be able to guess most of the plot). Both leads click almost instantly and rush into marriage before Connor has had the chance to explain the truth to Anna about why he's been looking for her and about her extremely complicated background. And considering Anna's traumatic past and her stalker ex, she's developed the habit of running away at the first sign of trouble. Both leads hurt each other unintentionally quite a lot, but it's always understandable and they do learn from their mistakes and grow as people (and suffer the consequences of their actions, yay for karma). I like how neither party is solely to blame for their problems and they both acknowledge their faults, I really love good character development. It's also great to finally see Abby reunited with her sister. I loved both stories and would definitely recommend them to anyone.
2020-08-10
It was ok, the plot was fairly predictable, the characters were flawed in a believably human way and the pace was fine. I just hate how weak-willed Shannon is, she just lets EVERYONE walk all over her! Luca treated her abysmally, but she keeps falling back into his arms and bed no matter how often he hurts her, she always does everything he wants, her sister (who gets the most character development tbh) sacrificed her to protect her own marriage, same for Angelo (even Luca was mad at his brother!), and she never even tries to defend herself to the Salvatore family (who never find out the truth!). Shannon is a doormat, not a person. At least everyone else was decent. Both Luca and Keira were so consumed by their fears and insecurities that they were blind to how much they were loved and ended up hurting their loved ones and themselves, but Luca, at least, was able to redeem himself and get a HEA. Their character development is my favourite part of the story, I love their humanity.
2020-08-07
Surprisingly deep and complex with many mature themes and twists and turns, I was on the edge of my seat for most of the story. While the main theme of revenge vs love is simple, there's much more to the plot and characters than you'd first assume and I was constantly being surprised the more I learned. Olivier is as I expected, a man consumed by the desire to avenge his grandfather then losing that hate as he fell in love, but Bella is more complicated than she seems and someone I couldn't help but sympathize. The full truth of what happened 50 years ago is a mystery that's revealed little by little over time and I was genuinely intrigued by it. With so many themes and plot points to explore, the romance isn't as well developed as I'd have liked, but it's serviceable enough. I just wish the leads had more time to interact with each other to make their love more believable. Still, this is a really interesting story that kept me hooked much more than I thought it would.
2020-08-06
Sweet, simple, emotional, heartwarming fluff. Peter is socially awkward and very bad at expressing his emotions, just like his son and late father, while Merry is sociable, friendly and upbeat, but both of them are prisoners of a past they can't let go (Peter's dead wife and the son Merry was forced to give up) which leaves them feeling undeserving of happiness. Everyone's problems could've been solved quickly if they'd all just properly talked things over, but each of them has very valid and understandable reasons for why they can't open up fully to the other and no one person is to blame. It also fits with the message that magic is real, but it's people who make their own magic. The ending was a little cheesy and rushed, but it's touching and satisfying all the same.
2020-08-05
Short stories about 5 high-school-aged couples, with all but the last one feeling shallow and empty due to only having one chapter to flesh out the characters, plot and relationship. Ch1: Ignorant rich boy forces antipathetic loner to spend all his time doing whatever he wants, then suddenly stops spending time with him, causing loner to act on his blue balls and go to rich kid for once. Ch2: Sports star falls for smart nerd 'cos nerd's cute when he sleeps, so he relentlessly stalks poor vehemently protesting nerd until the latter eventually gives in. Ch3: Nerd's little brother (who both looks AND acts like a young child) is saved by guy who then makes him cologne, which might be an aphrodisiac or they both have a scent fetish, idk. Ch4: Neighbor treats guy like little kid for NO REASON. Ch5: OMFG actual realistic characters with relatable issues, proper character development and meaningful interactions! All the stars are because of THIS! It's so touching and emotional! YES!! Love it!
2020-07-30
Best smut I've seen so far, long, detailed and insanely hot and, best of all, no censoring the dongs! On the downside, the plot is just a vehicle to carry us from one sex scene to the next, it's as bare-bones and trope-ridden as they come and it's filled with every tired old cliché I've grown to hate. The top is sexy and demanding and the bottom is cute and hesitant (and the worst source of the "but I'm not gay!" "but he's my best friend!" "but he'd be happier with his ex-gf!" clichés); they do their job as two hot guys you love to see get it on, well enough, but no more, they're not characters I give even the slightest crap about. So definitely check this out for the amazing smut but don't expect anything from the plot.
2020-07-20
Mature, down-to-earth and very character-driven. Liz is a single mother who tries to be an ice queen to avoid getting hurt again; her struggles to raise her daughter on her own (with help from her mum) are very realistic and relatable as she juggles working to provide for her family with trying to spend more time with her young daughter. Cam is a workaholic with many of the same issues as Liz since he's raising his late sister's young son. I adore the slow burn here, the leads are very respectful and patient, there's plenty of time given to allow them to bond and grow closer, learning to trust each other before they go on to explore their attraction (FYI story, magnetic attraction isn't a literal thing!). The leads behave like real people and even at their worst they're still believable and relatable, and their HEA was definitely well deserved.
Scroll to top