>

WindyWing15's Reviews & Ratings

2017-05-18
I stumbled onto this in the Renta horoscope section where they listed certain manga under star signs as entertainment. This title was listed under Scorpio, and as a fellow scorp myself, I have to say.... I approve! Lol! All fun and games with astrology aside, this title is so much fun. I'm mainly a seeker of deep storytelling when searching for what to read, and there's none here, but what makes up for all of that is pretty much everything from the concept of a dream sex app to how sensual all the scenes are to how the characters interact... I love it. The fact that the concept of dreams are involved makes this title an enchanting read. You'll find many pages filled with sensuality.
2017-05-17
It was somewhat of an ok read. I mainly look for storytelling when reading titles because well, I want to read a good story. This title however was sub par mainly because I'll admit that it is attention-grabbing, but overall there is really no story to this, none of the characters' relationships make sense, and everything seems so random. I'm not saying it's random because of the tentacles since I've seen other good tentacle genres out there that surprisingly had a good story behind it, but this... It needs work. However, I will say that if you just want a quick read for something scandalous and kinky, basically, if you're just downright horny to the point where reading anything will do, then go ahead and have fun reading this haha. But overall this title needs too many improvements.
2017-05-17
After reading the description my instant thought was "Whoa! Sounds spicy!" And after reading it, I can confirm that it is spicy hahaha! I didn't only come here for the manga description though. I was very intrigued that Yukari Nagatsuki, who has mainly worked in yaoi illustration covers, now created her first debut manga! I felt so excited and proud of her. I always had a fond appreciation for yaoi cover illustrations throughout the times, so to hear a cover artist finally getting a shot at creating their own title sounded awesome and I had a feeling it had to be good, even for a first time because I'm aware that full on illustrations take a lot of work, thought, and detail, especially with the focus of making it look its best visually. With that thought in mind, naturally I wanted to see the inner workings of this artist's mind when the time has finally come to create her own story. And I have to say, I was not disappointed in the least bit. For a debut manga, this was a fun, spectacular, and very hot read. I very much loved the idea of a cool and collected uke exposing his more sensual side to the observant and witty seme. But if there are things that I must critique, it's that some parts in the manga didn't make sense or the progression of relationships moved way too fast! I love hot scenes and all, but some parts of the story jumped so quickly, that I often had the question "How did this happen?". There needs to be more clarity, communication, and development both in story and characters. Aside from that, this is a great debut manga! I won't go as far as rating 5 stars though because it obviously needs work, but overall I loved it. I hope Yukari shares more stories because I so love her mind and her ideas. From the characters' personalities to how the sexual scenes were drawn to the story's concept... This artist has high potential! I am cheering her on in future works!
2017-05-14
This was such a cute and smooth title to read. Honestly, I wasn't expecting much at first after seeing that cheesy illustration cover, but if there was anything I learned from another title called "Sex Therapist" that also involved bakery love, it is..... Don't underestimate the topic of bakers' love hahaha! The topic may sound cheesy, and I honestly believed for a while that something like that must be hard to pull off with it seeming as cheesy as it does, but "TASTING AFTER DARK" has proved me wrong a second time. Aside from that, as a KuroFai fan, this couple is very reminiscent of them on some level so this was totally fun to read. There may not have been many steamy love scenes here, but what makes up for it is how beautifully each panel is drawn. I can very well tell much thought has been put into drawing and creating this. Every panel, the way it is drawn, is very much like looking at film shots. Even from the smallest details, I can tell that the execution of everything was well thought out. I felt like I was "watching" a movie the entire time. The way this is drawn is very animated, and Kazuya's expressions are eyecatching and very expressive. I found it fascinating to see how a free spirited guy like him interacts with the rigid Atsushi. Though it would have been nice to see more steamy love between the two, I really have no complaints after reading this because of how well thought out every panel was executed. If I have anything to critique though, it would have been nice to see more of Kazuya's vulnerable and ever-evolving side, which would definitely be like the cherry on top of the ice cream. Overall, really fun and delicious read!
2017-05-14
This was surprisingly good to read considering that I felt somewhat neutral about the prequel, "A RAVEN THAT CRIES BUT SHEDS NO TEARS". As a matter of fact it filled in most of the holes the previous title had in regard to portraying more of the characters' personalities. I got a good feel of what both Taizo and Kiyoto are like, and though I am not a fan of age gap couples in fiction, reading this was still a joy with the comedy and sweetness that this pair brings to the table. Not to mention that the portrayal of better sex scenes compared to the prequel is hot and kinky. Love it.
2017-05-13
For a story consisting of 196 pages that I purchased and read a 2nd time without knowing that I've already ready it a year ago has got to be good. I was going to opt for rating 3 stars for decency since just as the same with the last time I read it, I recall my first impressions on it being somewhat neutral, and now that I've read it a 2nd time, my feelings are still somewhat neutral. I say "somewhat", because I like this couple and I see potential in them. The storytelling is down to earth and bittersweet which probably explains why I've been able to patiently sit through and read 196 pages twice. So for that, I give props by giving 4 stars. However, it feels like some things are missing, like there just wasn't enough of certain ingredients in the story. Well, for starters, the lovemaking could have been illustrated more sensually or intensely because everything felt so shallow and cut short. There also feels to be some sort of disconnection between Seiji and Rin... I understand that Rin is a loner with a deadpan personality so that's fine, but at the very least, for the amount of time that's passed later on the author could have at least showed more character development or a stronger portrayal of his truest emotions. Also, the focus seems so heavy on Rin, that Seiji ends up almost looking like a side character given that not much is known about his history other than he goes to the same college as Rin. That's understandable since Rin is basically the "Raven" in the title so it makes sense for him to be the focus, but as the Raven's partner, it would have been nice if Seiji had more light shined on him, simply to more clearly present who he is as an individual and why Rin, the "Raven" chose him. It's a good read, but there are too many holes. It had so many holes, that I forgot that I've ever read it a year ago so basically, it wasn't memorable.
2017-05-13
Short but beautiful read.
2017-05-12
Rating 5 stars for the pacing of the story, character development, and the use of unique characters that you don't normally see in BL manga. Sure, there's that typical seme that teases the shy uke scenario, but what makes it unique is that unlike most BL manga I've read, this pair actually seems realistic, like it can happen in reality. The pacing of how the artist makes two very different personalities harmonize with each other as the story progresses is refreshing to see compared to the forcefulness I've seen in many other manga. I am hoping there will be more to this story because at the end, I'm left with questions like if Akito will ever fully accept Keito. I don't only want to see Keito x Sena since it would be awesome to see how Keito's affected the lives of those connected to his partner, and vice versa. Haha, especially Akito too, I like seeing things come full circle. Overall this is a nice read. Pull up a chair, sit down with a nice beverage, and enjoy the ride. Reading this title is like downing a smooth latte.
2017-05-12
For passing the time, this is a nice comedy BL manga to read. I rated 3 for decency since I felt some of the execution was sort of all over the place, and it would have been nice if the development of the other two stories weren't too shallow, compared to how the character development in the first story turned out anyway. Overall it was an ok read with quirky characters tossed in for entertainment.
2017-05-12
I opted for a rating of 2 with this being a tad less than decent for my taste and knowledge on incubus and succubus lore. It's obvious that the author plans to add comedic relief here and that's fine, but if I have to critique anything, it's how the actions and effects of the incubus were executed. From what I read and saw in this manga, how he acted and how the human reacted is no different from your average human x human relationship. But the stranger is an INCUBUS. And incubi are mythical beings notorious for their skills in seducing and pleasuring humans until they are helpless. I understand if presenting that too much in the first chapter would cause the plot or story to pass too quickly, but to some extent, I think the incubus character's traits of being an incubus needs to be emphasized. One can't simply push away the kiss of an incubus. Just saying. It's similar to saying one can't simply shake off the melody of a siren. Naturally the artist has artistic license to create characters as they please, but if you're going to create an incubus character, make it believable. I was interested in checking this manga out because incubi and succubi fascinate me, but after reading this, it seems clear that not enough research on these beings have been done. I'd continue reading if the character roles are made more believable, but if it keeps going the way it is now, I'll have to stop here. I rated 2 for this being a little less than a decent read based on character execution. I can't rate it a 1 since it's not downright horrible, but at the end of reading chapter 1 (which is the only chapter available so far), it leaves me feeling "ehh".
Scroll to top