User Reviews For: Jawbreaker

562361

4.5 out of 5

(10)
5 star
(6)
4 star
(3)
3 star
(1)
2 star
(0)
1 star
(0)
2018-10-19
Mrsmangame123 Rating
It's Nyan-Nya! So you know this is gonna be so much more than your typical bl story. Childhood friends who haven't seen each or kept in touch for a while are finally in the same space again for summer. Logan is tired of being a loner virgin and Daniel suggests he help him out. Daniel is an enigma. He keeps to himself and thanks to the anonymity of hookup apps, no one really knows who he sleeps with and what he's got going on inside of his head. These are young guys trying to figure out where they're going and what they want out of life. Nyan-Nya always does a great job of combining her humor with the right amount of angst. The art is unusual, but cool and it works for her storytelling. The dialogue is so spot on and realistic. This whole story is very realistic and almost bittersweet, but I can tell it's going to have a bunch of heart as well. Can't wait to see how this all pans out.
2018-11-14
kleepart Rating
I love this mangaka. Her art style is unique and the stories are interesting. This one is nice because it really plays with the childhood friends trope. If I say too much what I like about it it'll spoil it. There are lots of little funny moments, but I wouldn't say that's it's all happy-happy. It's certainly worth a read and worth buying.
2018-11-21
howlmachine Rating
I found the ending to be a little abrupt and unsatisfying, but on the whole it was cute and enjoyable.
2018-11-13
rabesXO Rating
In Jawbreaker, Nyan-Nya has created another Japanese-style American BL story. Logan and Daniel are childhood friends. Logan is a frustrated virgin with zero experience and nervously takes up Daniel's offer to be his kissing practice partner after it's offered in a very off-hand, take-it-or-leave-it way. Though her art style is great, I find it difficult to get emotionally invested in Nyan-Nya's stories. Logan and Daniel are very hard for me to relate to and I find it almost impossible to comprehend the way they act and react towards one another as the series moves forward. In my reading, Jawbreaker feels like a sort of caricature of Nyan-Nya's perception of American attitudes towards sexuality and relationships. Jawbreaker is not a bad series. Not by a long shot. I adore Nyan-Nya's art style and her sense of humor is great. There's also a hearty dose of angst, if that happens to be your thing. Evidently it isn't my cup of tea but I'll certainly be reading 'til the end.
2019-08-11
brixenne Rating
Don't get me wrong, I love Nyannya's books and her style of writing and drawing but this series had a really abrupt ending compared to the build up and it was unsatisfying. I didn't expect the couple to end up lovey dovey (as it wouldn't be in character) but at least some realisation on both of their parts.
2019-05-05
Lantern88 Rating
As per usual, Nyan Nya sensei has written an amazing piece of work! Very hot scenes, but also a good level of intrigue that has you guessing what the characters are going to do next.
2019-05-03
Asthi Rating
This is a really different childhood friend story! It has a really nice twist and feels kind of realistic in the way the characters act. I wish there were more stories with these types of characters!
2019-04-21
Thornqueen0 Rating
I love it it's very cute and the ending was great!
2019-03-28
marymw356 Rating
I liked this series. There was plenty of hot scenes. The story was good, with some character growth. Their attitude towards each other bothered me a little. Still it was good.
2019-03-20
isalicegermain4454 Rating
OMG ! I loved it so much ! The storyline is modern, feels kind of new and the characters are awesome. The art is beautiful and you can say that the artist put herself too the heart into this manga. Kind of remember me what it means to be young, full of doubt and in love. Only regret maybe, the end. Let's just hope the mangaka will publish an other story ASAP. That apart, I enjoyed the reading and the complicated relationship and state of mind of those two young men who are still not completely adults.
Scroll to top