User Reviews For: People Pleaser [Plus Digital-Only Bonus]

760425

3.8 out of 5

(10)
5 star
(3)
4 star
(3)
3 star
(3)
2 star
(1)
1 star
(0)
2020-10-30
animepie Rating
Ok. This is the author's first serialized manga so it's expected that there will be some hiccups but I felt like this had the potential to be more interesting. it fell into so many yaoi cliche traps that it just felt irritating. I'm honestly not even sure how their relationship developed. The scene where the top molests the bottom for the first time just comes out of nowhere. It just made him feel more like an asshole than compelling. And he just responds with that he's gay and then we get that being gay makes you a predator thought from MC. Then we get the explanation of why he's a people pleaser more times than I believe are necessary. Then somehow we end up at I'm not gay but I like you.Tldr: It had the potential to be moderately interesting if not cliche, but it fell into even worse cliches.
2020-10-31
dirtyangeltoes Rating
Well dang, this manga had a LOT of non-con...in the end, it pretty much ruined the whole thing for me due to how pointless the drama felt and how much the MCs skirted around one another. This story takes place in high school, and these particular high schoolers have absolutely horrible communication skills with one another... It's a plot point in the manga, but a pointless one that felt ridiculous due to how it was carried out. It basically caused one of the main characters to be borderline abusive toward the other one for the majority of the whole manga and just... ugh. Made my head hurt.The story fell flat despite the art being so nice, and it was a bigger disappointment than I thought. Despite my whining, it might be someone else's cup of tea. I just can't stand cliche, abusive yaoi plots involving stupid teenagers anymore... It could have had so much potential, which truly sucks.
2020-10-31
LetMeIn Rating
Rate 3-4 stars. I just couldn't get into it. So disappointed. Why did I buy this. I like the art, the premise, the characters' identities but hate how the male leads interract with each other. "How to force your crush to drop their people-pleaser mask by forcefully groping them against their will and acting like you own them 101!" I hate how the bottom just let's the top do as he pleases and at one point even apologizes for saying no when top touched him without permission (often!). I just scrolled half-way through the story 'cause f this.
2020-11-03
mabbitybabbity Rating
I enjoyed the manga. It does have the consent issues many manga stories have, but I've read worse. I keep my fan-glasses tuned into the fact that this is totally fiction/fantasy. I love the art and do hope the artist will keep making manga!
2020-10-31
nonarygamed Rating
The art and the plot are cute and heartfelt, but in the first chapter, the dark haired guy sexually assaults the lighter haired guy to get his attention, and it's shrugged off immediately. If It wasn't for that, it would be much better. So, it's not bad, but if S/A is a deal breaker, pass on this one.
2020-11-09
Daekin Rating
Not bad for a first manga. The characters are fun, their interactions are entertaining, the art is really nice, but the story and development is a bit lacking. I would have loved to see their relationship develop more. As it is, it seems a bit rushed. Still, I enjoyed it.
2020-11-08
liasnow Rating
My only REAL complain is that this doesn't have more kyuudo hotness (I've seen nearly zero BL with kyuudo involved so I was excited when I found this one).Oky, I can see what the author was trying to do with the characters and the relationship, but I think the idea wasn't well developed. I don't think it's THAT bad, but it was neither cute nor funny or even sexy (there's a little art inconsistency imo). This is just personal, but I'm only willing to overlook the non-con element when the seme is not forcing himself with brute force. In this story the MC states it's against his will, but the fact he goes to the seme guy makes it a biiiiiiit consensual? I don't know if this makes sense to you, and believe me I do not advocate sexual abuse, but I didn't find it as gross in this story. Still, you should probably pass on this if you're uncomfortable with this trope. I do think the author has potential though, I hope to see more from them.
2020-11-02
Ren4Liz28 Rating
I seriously loved this story. The characters are so different, but they work together. I love how the seme sees right through the uke's fake personality and calls him out. You can tell he really loves him by noticing the little things. Although the story is not complex, it is a great story about just being yourself cause those that really care will love you no matter what.
2020-11-02
AinoKusabi Rating
Love happens in strange ways. Even though the plot and setting are common, the author did a good job of making the story different. Kakeru and Makoto are quirky. Nice. A second volume would be awesome.
2020-10-31
ChattyK2125 Rating
I enjoyed this. Makoto never really hated Kakeru. He hated his fake look. He had really fallen for him not knowing if he was straight or gay 2 years before. Kakeru really loved seeing Makoto do Archery. Makoto gave Kakeru "extra attention". Because their names were side by side , they were always placed together. Kakeru was confused about his feelings for Makoto. Makoto gets him to share his feelings with him and his friends. Kakeru sees how much happier he is now.The story ends with them in some rather smexy scenes and Makoto and Kakeru at the beginning of a new relationship,one with Makoto already pledging his love to Kakeru. Kakeru is definitely getting closer!! Really love it because it is about how one boy loved another for 2 years and was willing just to watch him until he got too fake with his actions with friends. Makoto got him to realize he needed to be true and & honest. His friends appreciated his honesty more!! Hope to see more from this Author!
Scroll to top